The Shevington Curriculum

At Shevington High School, we ensure that our curriculum is designed to reflect the values of the school.  Our ethos promotes the idea that ‘Life is what you make it.’ To reflect this, our curriculum not only develops the subject knowledge that pupils need to be academically successful, the skills that they need to be well rounded citizens but also provides a range of opportunities that promote student agency through personalised learning.

 KS3 SAIL Curriculum – Year 7 and 8

 What is SAIL?

Student Agency in Learning or SAIL is a style of learning which has the learner at the centre of all that takes place.  The learning is a student centred, highly personalised approach to education pioneered by Kunskapsskolan in Sweden.  As a KED inspired school, Shevington High School has been developing SAIL over the last 2 years.

Year 7 and 8 pupils follow a SAIL curriculum.  Pupils learn through a series of themes which accompany the STEP subjects.  STEP subjects are English, Maths, Science, Languages and Computer Science.  The themes are delivered through the foundation and creative subjects: History, Geography, Design Technology, Food and Nutrition, RE, Music, Drama and Art.  In these subjects pupils work through themed learning and take part in missions which are driven by these subjects.  Pupils also have lessons in PE and PSHE.  One form group also is enrolled on the Mandarin Excellence Programme and studies Mandarin Chinese.

What are the themes and missions?

Within the theme learning, pupils complete 3 key themes in each of Year 7 and Year 8.  For Year 7, the themes are:


In Year 8, the themes are:

Each theme is driven by a key subject area, with the other subjects contributing to the pupils understanding of the theme.  Pupils are expected to master core goals within each subject area.  At the end of each theme, pupils take part in a mission which involves them presenting some aspect of their learning in a creative and inspirational way.  Learning is driven by pupils working with a number of rubrics which allow them to see what they must do to achieve each goal at a specific level.  The missions are assessed in the same way.  Pupils can achieve at Bronze, Silver, Gold or Platinum depending on the level of skills and knowledge demonstrated.  Missions also include additional challenges which are an opportunity for pupils to work towards something special that they have chosen themselves.

Workshop Learning

In addition to the Theme and Step subjects, pupils al


so have a weekly workshop.  During the week pupils plan their learning with their form tutor, using their personal log books.  This includes planning how their 1 hour workshop can be used best.  During the workshop, pupils can direct their own time to work on whichever goals they choose.  This could be a goal that they want to devote extra time to in one of the Step subjects, or it could be working towards a goal in one of the themes or even working towards some aspect of their mission.  The workshop

time is highly valued by students and during this time the teacher works to facilitate the learning of the pupils.

A student log book



To complement the SAIL style of learning all pupils (Year 7-11) have a weekly coaching session.  Coaching takes place from 8.30-8.45am.  Each pupils has a weekly session when they are coached by their form tutor with a small group from their tutor group.  During this time, pupils discuss their goals for the week, they reflect on their learning from the previous week and plan how they might use their workshop or homework time.  In Years 9-11 this is crucial time to reflect on their learning, plan for assessments and revision and to discuss any learning questions that pupils may have.

KS4 – Year 9-11

Pupils at Shevington High School decide on their GCSE options at the close of year 8 and start their GCSE studies in Year 9.  Pupils are encouraged to continue a broad range of subjects which also reflect their own strengths and interests. Pupils continue to have a weekly coaching session with their form tutor.  They will finish Year 11 equipped with a range of appropriate qualifications, skills and attributes to enable them to pursue their chosen path into further education or employment. The curriculum is divided into two parts, core curriculum and options – these are outlined below.

Core Curriculum: English, Maths, Science, PE, PSHE.

Options Subjects: History, Geography, French, Spanish, Mandarin, Computer Science, Media Studies, Design Technology, Food and Nutrition, PE, Drama, Art and Music.

Schemes of Work

Key Stage 4

Art KS4

Citizenship KS4l

Computer Science KS4 

Design and Technology KS4

Drama KS4 

English KS4 

French KS4 

Food KS4 

Geography KS4 

History KS4 

Maths KS4 Higher 

Maths KS4 Foundation 

Media Studies KS4 

Music KS4

Final PE KS4 



Science –